New award in regenerative periodontal medicine goes to two leading clinicians in academia 

Barcelona , 16 July 2010: A newly created award recognizing significant contributions to research in Periodontology has been presented to two renowned researchers, Professors Martha Somerman and Ulf Wikesjö, at the 88th General Session of the International Association for Dental Research in Barcelona.


Worth a total of USD 5000, the IADR/Straumann Award in Regenerative Periodontal Medicine is sponsored by Straumann and administered by the Periodontal Research Group of the IADR. Its objective is to recognize significant contributions in basic and/or clinical research in the field of regenerative periodontal or peri-implant medicine. The Award was presented by Professor Anton Sculean, President of the IADR Periodontal Research Group, and Dr Sandro Matter, Executive Vice President Products at Straumann.


“Both recipients have significantly furthered our understanding of the biologic mechanisms involved in the repair and regeneration of tissues that support teeth. Their research achievements have helped our efforts to preserve compromised teeth and dental implants”, said Dr Matter. “This Award is a further example of our continuing commitment to research, where Straumann ranks among the leading contributors in the industry”, he added.


Martha Somerman is renowned internationally as a periodontist, educator and researcher. She is Dean of the University of Washington School of Dentistry in the USA, where she is Professor of Periodontics, in addition to being an active researcher and a practising clinician. She was nominated for the Award in recognition of her significant contribution to defining the key regulators that control the development, maintenance and regeneration of tissues that form the dental-oral-craniofacial complex - and for her efforts to study the appropriate cells, genes (factors), and scaffolds needed to rebuild periodontal structures lost through disease. 


Ulf Wikesjö is Professor of Periodontology, Oral Biology, and Graduate Studies at the Medical College of Georgia in Augusta, USA, where he is Interim Associate Dean for Research, and Director of the Laboratory for Applied Periodontal & Craniofacial Regeneration. He is also Adjunct Professor of Periodontology at Malmö University Centre for Oral Health Sciences in Sweden. He shares the Award with Martha Somerman in recognition of his work in developing unique preclinical models to evaluate the clinical potential of bone biomaterials/devices and biologic factors, including bone morphogenetic proteins (BMPs) for craniofacial tissue engineering in oral implantology and periodontal wound regeneration.