Andreas Stavropoulos receives the 2013 IADR/Straumann Award in Regenerative Periodontal Medicine 

Basel, 22 March 2013 – At the General Session of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) in Seattle, USA, the 2013 IADR/Straumann Award in Regenerative Periodontal Medicine was presented to Professor Andreas Stavropoulos of Malmö University, Sweden, in recognition of his remarkable achievements in periodontal research.


Worth USD 5000, the Award was created to honor significant contributions in basic and/or clinical research in regenerative periodontal or peri-implant medicine. The 2013 Award was presented by Professor Philip Preshaw, President of the IADR Periodontal Research Group. “Professor Andreas Stavropoulos has made a sustained and high quality contribution to research in periodontal regeneration over the past 15 years“, noted Professor Preshaw. “His excellent track record of research publications in the areas of wound healing, bone regeneration, implant therapy and osseointegration reflects the consistent quality and broad range of his research”, he added.


Professor Michel Dard, Head of Preclinical Research at Straumann, commended Professor Stavropoulos for his significant contribution to current knowledge in the field. “Andreas Stavropoulos has consistently added to our understanding of synthetic and autogenous transplant incorporation and implant osseointegration. His publications on the inflammatory process in periodontology and growth factors are regarded highly – as are the novel imaging approaches he has developed.”


Andreas Stavropoulos, DDS, CDT, PhD, Dr Odont. is an internationally renowned researcher in periodontology. After studies in Athens, Heidelberg and Thessalonica, he pursued his career in research at the School of Dentistry at Aarhus University, Denmark. In 2011, he won First Prize in the Basic Research Competition of the European Association of Osseointegration. In 2012, Andreas Stavropoulos was appointed Professor of Periodontology at Malmö University School of Dentistry, Sweden. He has authored and co-authored a large number of publications and contributed to specialist textbooks in the field of periodontology.


Initiated in 2010, the IADR/Straumann Award in Regenerative Periodontal Medicine is sponsored by Straumann and administered by the Periodontal Research Group of the IADR. Previous winners are: Martha Somerman, Ulf Wikesjö, Nikolaos Donos and Anton Sculean. Straumann is a leading contributor to R&D in implant and regenerative dentistry and this award is a further example of the Group’s commitment to fostering and recognizing excellence in dental research.



About the International Association for Dental Research

Based in Alexandria, Va., USA, the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with more than 12 000 individual members worldwide, dedicated to: (1) advancing research and increasing knowledge to improve oral health, (2) supporting the oral health research community, and (3) facilitating the communication and application of research findings for the improvement of oral health worldwide. For more information on the IADR, see Within the IADR, the Periodontal Research Group is the forum for members who are active in periodontology. Its aim is to improve periodontal health through encouraging research activities.



About Straumann

Headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, the Straumann Group (SIX: STMN) is a global leader in implant and restorative dentistry and oral tissue regeneration. In collaboration with leading clinics, research institutes and universities, Straumann researches, develops and manufactures dental implants, instruments, prosthetics and tissue regeneration products for use in tooth replacement and restoration solutions or to prevent tooth loss. Straumann currently employs approximately 2500 people worldwide and its products and services are available in more than 70 countries through its broad network of distribution subsidiaries and partners.